2014 Fairhope Christmas Parade Committee Meeting for October 2014

The 2014 Christmas Parade Committee met at the Nix Center on Wednesday October 8, 2014. The following members were present: Paige Turberville, Sherry Sullivan, Joe Self, Rick Waveunek, Gary Turner, Doug Johnson, John Gammer and Ted Dwyer.

The following issues and concerns were discussed:

The Committee reviewed the September minutes.

Paige Turberville informed the committee that the Invitations, Applications, Entry Requests etc. have been distributed.

The utilization and clarification of the terms Parade Marshal and Parade Official was finalized.

The Information Booth will continue to be manned as before.

The space marker issue was further discussed. It is important to locate the cones at the front of the designated space, not to the rear. Al Mc Phearson will continue to be the "point man" for the marking of the spaces. Assisting members will report to the USA at approximately 3:00 P.M. the afternoon of the parade.

Parade Marshals should be each assigned to a certain moving location within the line of march.

Sherry Sullivan will be responsible for briefing the Marshals and Escorts. The briefing location will be in the dining area at the USA. The time will be finalized at the November meeting.

The Baldwin Pops participation has been finalized. They will participate. Steve Allen is authorized to have direct communication with the organization. We still need to ensure that VIP parking is available to the band members at the Civic Center.

An additional Porta Pottie facility will be available this year at the intersection of Section and Morphy Streets. Other locations for like facilities will be at the intersection of Summit and ST James Streets and Section and Morphy Streets.

Sherry Sullivan will attempt to acquire better communication equipment for the use of The Parade Officials.

It was noted that if a participating unit is not ready to move for whatever reason, then consideration should be given to have the succeeding unit bypass the stalled unit.

Doug Johnson has been designated to work with Gary Turner at the "Greeting Point" (Intersection of St James and Summit Streets). John Gammer will work with Dan Heffern at the "Start Point".

Submitted by Ted Dwyer