
• Sec. 7-7. - Schedule of permit fees. 

New Construction Permit Fees  

Fees  Residential  Commercial  

   

Building Permit Fee  

$5.00 per $1,000.00 of 

project value (min 

$25.00)  

$6.00 per $1,000.00 of project value (min $100.00)  

   

($1.00 per $1,000.00 of value additional fee for non-

residential construction in compliance with Alabama 

Act 2015-308)  

Electrical Permit Fee  $75.00  $1.00 per $1,000 of value (min $100.00)  

Temporary Elect. Fee  $25.00  $25.00  

Plumbing Permit Fee  $75.00  $1.00 per $1,000 of value (min $100.00)  

Mechanical Permit 

Fee  
$75.00  $1.00 per $1,000 of value (min $100.00)  

Security/Structured 

Wire  
$25.00  $ .50 per $1,000 of value (min $25.00)  

  

New Construction Permit Fees  

Fees  Residential  Commercial  

   

Sewer Tap Inspection 

Fee  
$25.00  $50.00  

Gas Permit Fee  $40.00  $75.00  

Plan Review Fee  

$50.00  

   

(For informal reviews with no 

contractor of record listed, a 

review fee of $200.00 will be 

charged)  

$2.50 per $1,000.00  

   

(For informal reviews with no contract, fee will be 

charged at calculated rate with construction 

costs determined by ICC Building Code Valuation 

Tables)  

   

(For projects sent for third party review, the 

review fee shall be either the cost of the review 

or the standard charge of $2.50/$1,000, 

whichever is greater)  

Fence Permit Fee  
$5.00 per $1,000.00 of value 

(min $25.00)  
$5.00 per $1,000.00 of value (min $25.00)  

Sign Permit Fee  N/A  $5.00 per $1,000.00 of value (min $25.00)  

Demolition Permit 

Fee  
$25.00  $25.00  



Fees  Residential  Commercial  

   

Reinspection Fees  

$100.00 for the first reinspection, $200.00 for the second reinspection, $300.00 

for the third reinspection. All fees must be paid in person at the Building 

Department.  

Swimming Pool Fees  $50.00  $100.00  

Name of electrical contractor and electrical permit required for issuance of Swimming Pool Permit  

Fine for continuing 

work without 

approved inspections  

$500.00 per occurrence. Fine shall be paid in person at the Building 

Department and contractor/owner must correct all noted deficiencies  

Roofing permit fee  
$5.00 per $1,000.00 of value 

(min. $25.00)  
$5.00 per $1,000.00 of value (min. $25.00)  

  

Remodeling Permit Fees  

Fees  

Project Value  

 

$0.00—$5,000.00  

Project Value  

 

$5,001.00—$20,000.00  

Building Permit 

Fee  
$25.00  

$6.00 per $1,000.00 of value  

   

($1.00 per $1,000.00 of value additional fee for non-residential 

construction in compliance with Alabama Act 2015-308)  

Electrical Permit 

Fee  
$25.00  $35.00  

Temporary Elect. 

Fee  
$25.00  $25.00  

Plumbing Permit 

Fee  
$25.00  $35.00  

Mechanical Permit 

Fee  
$25.00  $35.00  

Sewer Tap 

Inspection Fee  
$25.00  $25.00  



Gas Permit Fee  $25.00  $25.00  

  

Fees  
$20,001.00—

$50,000.00  
$50,001.00—above  

Building Permit 

Fee  

$5.00 per 

$1,000.00  

$6.00 per $1,000.00  

   

($1.00 per $1,000.00 of value additional fee for non-residential 

construction in compliance with Alabama Act 2015-308)  

Electrical Permit 

Fee  
$50.00  new construction rates  

Temporary Elect. 

Fee  
$25.00  new construction rates  

Plumbing Permit 

Fee  
$50.00  new construction rates  

Mechanical 

Permit Fee  
$50.00  new construction rates  

Sewer Tap 

Inspection Fee  
$25.00  new construction rates  

Gas Permit Fee  $35.00  new construction rates  

  

Building Moving Permit Fees  

Building Moving Permit   $50.00  

Required Police Escort   $300.00 (minimum)  

Required Utility Department Work   $120.00 per hour (minimum of 3 hours)  

  

Regulations governing the moving of existing buildings are outlined in City Ordinance 1035.  

Where work for which a permit is required by this Code is started or proceeded with prior to 

obtaining said permit, the fees herein specified shall be doubled, but the payment of such double 



fees shall not relieve any persons from fully complying with the requirements of this Code in the 

execution of the work nor from any other penalties prescribed herein.  

(Ord. No. 674, § 1, 5-25-81; Ord. No. 961, §§ 1—3, 7-11-94; Ord. No. 1113, §§ 1, 2, 3-16-01; Ord. No. 

1268, § 1, 10-10-05; Ord. No. 1586, § 1, 9-22-16; Ord. No. 1599, § 1, 8-14-17)  

Cross reference— Payment of business license prerequisite to issuance of permit, § 8-1 ( 

Contractor (c)).  

https://library.municode.com/al/fairhope/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COOR_CH8BULICOTARE_ARTIBULITARE_S8-1LETA

