

ALABAMA MUNICIPAL ELECTRIC AUTHORITY

80 TECHNACENTER DRIVE MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36117 TEL 334/262-1126 • FAX 334/262-2267 www.amea.com

April 13, 2017

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Lisa Miller
Manager, Communications
and Marketing
(334) 387-3501

AMEA and its Members announce 2017 scholarship winners

Forty-four (44) high school seniors will enroll in a four-year college/university, community college, and/or vocational school in Alabama this year with help from the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) and its 11 Members through the 2017 AMEA Scholarship Program.

Each of the 44 scholarship recipients will receive a \$2,500 scholarship for a total of \$110,000 awarded in this year's program. AMEA received 200 scholarship applications in the 2017 program.

Since 1992, AMEA and its Members have provided over \$2 million in scholarships to the graduating high school seniors who receive their electric service from AMEA Members, including Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Riviera Utilities (Foley), Sylacauga and Tuskegee.

To be eligible for the AMEA scholarships, a student's family must receive electric service from an AMEA Member city electric utility and the student must attend an Alabama college/university or vocational school.

"We take our role as a good corporate citizen seriously," said Fred D. Clark, Jr., AMEA President & CEO. "That's why we, along with our Members, support education initiatives, like the AMEA Scholarship Program, that contribute to making our state economically competitive. We congratulate this year's scholarship winners."

This year's AMEA Academic Scholarship recipients are:

Robert Tucker Beckett, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City Lauren Elizabeth Hanna, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City Marley Elizabeth McAlister, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Courtney Daye Mathis, Providence Christian School, Dothan

Alayna Marie Shipman, Providence Christian School, Dothan

Sarah Marina Thompson, Houston Academy, Dothan

Matthew Jack Mitchell, Bayside Academy, Fairhope

Michael Austin Saraceno, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Jordan Elizabeth Smith, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Hannah Elizabeth Yingst, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Mackenzie Liana Brentzel, Spanish Fort High School, Riviera Utilities

Adam Blakeney Davis, Spanish Fort High School, Riviera Utilities

Kelsey Blaine Reagan, Fairhope High School, Riviera Utilities

Bailey Michelle Salter, Foley High School, Riviera Utilities

Lajavier Daequan Bryant, LaFayette High School, LaFayette

Nataja Lashun Reece, LaFayette High School, LaFayette

Ataiya Debrione Bridges, Lanett High School, Lanett

Connor Jacob Buchanan, Valley High School, Lanett

Anna Elizabeth Drake, Springwood School, Lanett

Carson Elizabeth Leva, Springwood School, Lanett

Frances Jean Ackerman, Luverne High School, Luverne

Tyler Paten Powell, Luverne High School, Luverne

Hunter Blake Stalling, Luverne High School, Luverne

John Houston Fuller, Lee-Scott Academy, Opelika

Samantha Louise Herring, Opelika High School, Opelika

Henry Hamilton SmithT, Opelika High School, Opelika

Martha Tattum Jane Denham, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

Elizabeth Caroline McCurdy, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

Payton Michelle McFry, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

Makayla Faithe West, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

Madison Elizabeth Harper, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

William Levi Parker, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

Justin Finkley, Booker T. Washington High School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee

Tamunoenefaa Jonathan Harry, Booker T. Washington High School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee

Cheyeanne Dakota Marable, Booker T. Washington High School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee

Jordan Kimesha Pace, Booker T. Washington High School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee

This year's AMEA Vocational School Scholarship recipients include:

Russell Lee Lunsford, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Bianca Nicole Anderson, Dothan High School, Dothan

Allie Peyton Brushwood, Chambers Academy, LaFayette

Elizabeth Lenoir Thrower, Chambers Academy, LaFayette

Charles Hunter DeVoss, Luverne High School, Luverne

Turner Matthew Adkins, Lee-Scott Academy, Opelika

Jacob Ryan Daniel, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

Taivion Sanchez Keith, Childersburg High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

AMEA, a joint action agency formed in 1981, is the wholesale power provider for 11 public power utilities in Alabama, which serve approximately 350,000 customers in the cities of Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga and Tuskegee.